Roadtrip; New Jersey to Arizona! (August 26-28, 2014)

I recently moved to Arizona; fortunately I had my Dad help me with the move and this is our 3 day adventure! We left about 3:30 in the morning to make it to our scheduled tour at Fallingwater, which is somewhere that I had wanted to go for about 9 years now and that was my one required stop along the way. It was everything I thought it would be and more! We got there early and went to the lookout point before it got busy, we were the only people at the lookout area and it was incredible. After our tour we ate at the cafe; I had Butternut Squash, Apple, Brie and Arugula Panini with sweet potato fries and my dad had The Cuban with sweet and spicy broccoli slaw and they were both really good! After lunch we left to go to our stop for the evening, Indianapolis! When we arrived there we had dinner at Texas Road House (one of our favorites) and then just hung out in the room! There wasn’t much time to explore. I would have liked to see Lucas Oil Stadium but it was out of the way.

On day 2 we left early again and our first stop was in Catoosa, OK to see the Blue Whale (a Route 66 roadside attraction). The blue whale was really cool; you can climb inside the upper part of the whale and also on top of the tail, which was a little scary! Then we stopped for lunch in downtown Tulsa, we ate at Elote Cafe. We had the Roasted Jalapeño Screamers as a starter and they were delicious! I had the quinoa tacos and they were amazing, I could have eaten so many of them! After lunch it was off to our destination for the evening, Amarillo, Texas! Fortunately we made it in time for sunset at Cadillac Ranch and got some incredible pictures. Day 2 was our long (15 hour) driving day so we just got some microwave meals from the lobby and had dinner in our room, we were way to tired to do anything else.

Day 3 we had breakfast in the hotel and it was awesome because their waffle maker made Texas shaped waffles! We stopped at The Donut Stop to get a dozen donuts to go and then went to see the sunrise at Cadillac Ranch. The cherry frosted and chocolate frosted with chocolate chips were our favorite! Our first stop of the day was in Albuquerque, NM so we could have lunch at one of my favorite places, Little Anita’s. I got my usual #4, two cheese enchiladas with green sauce, chile relleno and rice! Obviously followed by sopapillas! YUM. Afterwards we went to a local comic book shop that my dad had heard about, Astro-Zombies. It was located in the Nob Hill area, which had so many cool shops!! I have to go back someday when we have more time. We went in several other stores as well and purchased some art in the shop next to Astro-Zombies. On our way out of town I had to stop at Blake’s to get a real green chile breakfast burrito for the road! Another one of my Albuquerque food favorites. That evening we arrived in Phoenix and went to one of mine and Phil’s favorite places, Mellow Mushroom! We spent the next few days exploring Phoenix and moving into my new apartment! It was an incredible road trip and I hope to do another USA road trip someday!

Leave a comment